The fans have spoken, and apparently, all they want to see in this year’s Pro Bowl is an entire roster of Steelers players. 

The fan voting period for this year’s Pro Bowl wrapped this week, and the results of the fan ballots were finally released on Saturday by the NFL. Of the 19 positions that fans were allowed to vote on in the AFC, seven of those spots ended up going to a Steelers player. 

One of the most notable players who was voted in by fans was linebacker Ryan Shazier, who earned the most votes of any inside linebacker in the AFC. However, Shazier won’t be able to play in the game because he’s still recovering from a devastating injury that he suffered on Dec. 4 against the Bengals

Shazier, who continues to recover in a Pittsburgh-area hospital, started the process of physical rehabilitation this week. Although Shazier may have garnered a few extra votes due to his injury, fans voted him in based on his skill. In the two weeks before he was injured, Shazier led the voting at the inside linebacker position. 

As for other Steelers who won the fan vote: Le’Veon Bell, Antonio Brown, Alejandro Villanueva, Maurkice Pouncey, David DeCastro and special teamer Tyler Matakevich all received the most votes at their position. 

Bell was actually the leading vote-getter among all players, with Tom Brady checking in at second and Brown coming in third. The leading vote-getter in the NFC was Eagles quarterback Carson Wentz, followed by Saints quarterback Drew Brees and Rams running back Todd Gurley

Although the Wentz was the leading vote-getter, the Rams actually had the most NFC players win the fan vote with a total of five.  

The fan vote is only one-third of the process when it comes to choosing who will play in the Pro Bowl. Players for the game are determined by the consensus votes of fans, players and coaches. 

Each group’s vote counts one-third toward determining the 88 All-Star players who will be selected to the Pro Bowl. NFL players and coaches will cast their votes on Friday, December 15. 

After those votes are cast, the official roster will be announced Tuesday, Dec. 19 at 8 p.m. ET on NFL Network. 

The game, which is being held in Orlando for the second straight year, will kickoff at 3 p.m. ET on January 28 and be televised by ABC and ESPN. 

Here’s a look at all the leading vote-getters in the AFC. 

QB Tom Brady New England 833,481
RB Le’Veon Bell Pittsburgh 855,539
FB Tommy Bohanon Jacksonville 139,297
WR Antonio Brown Pittsburgh 832,446
TE Rob Gronkowski New England 551,058
T Alejandro Villanueva Pittsburgh 208,033
G David DeCastro Pittsburgh 253,504
C Maurkice Pouncey Pittsburgh 242,409
DE Joey Bosa L.A. Chargers 406,873
DT Geno Atkins Cincinnati 289,919
OLB Von Miller Denver 248,278
ILB Ryan Shazier Pittsburgh 223,092
CB A.J. Bouye Jacksonville 319,638
SS Micah Hyde Buffalo 128,993
FS Kevin Byard Tennessee 157,036
K Stephen Gostkowski New England 153,573
P Marquette King Oakland 156,548
RS Tyreek Hill Kansas City 149,530
ST Tyler Matakevich Pittsburgh 91,49

Here’s a look at the leading vote-getters in the NFC. 

QB Carson Wentz Philadelphia 829,174
RB Todd Gurley L.A. Rams 693,697
FB Kyle Juszczyk San Francisco 361,196
WR Julio Jones Atlanta 541,571
TE Zach Ertz Philadelphia 486,011
T Tyron Smith Dallas 211,690
G Zack Martin Dallas 220,566
C Travis Frederick Dallas 246,225
DE Everson Griffen Minnesota 305,291
DT Aaron Donald L.A. Rams 314,522
OLB Chandler Jones Arizona 171,825
ILB Luke Kuechly Carolina 288,830
CB Xavier Rhodes Minnesota 222,137
SS Kam Chancellor Seattle 149,793
FS Earl Thomas Seattle 139,203
K Greg Zuerlein L.A. Rams 170,738
P Johnny Hekker L.A. Rams 90,152
RS Pharoh Cooper L.A. Rams 116,091
ST Budda Baker Arizona 96,595

Source link