We already learned that
Rudy Gobert would be a finalist for the Most Improved Player
award, and now we know he’ll be up for Defensive Player of the Year as well. 

Along with Gobert, Kawhi Leonard and Draymond Green were named as the finalists for the award honoring the best defender in the league, which should come as no surprise. We won’t actually find out who wins, however, until June 26, when the NBA‘s first-ever awards show —
hosted by Drake
— will take place. 

The trio have easily established themselves as the three best defenders in the league. Gobert dominates the paint, Green has unmatched versatility, and Leonard is perhaps the best perimeter defender in the game. 

Leonard has won the award the last two seasons, and is looking to become the first player since Dwight Howard (2008-2011) to win the award three times in a row. 

Source link